roamin' catholic: karin rosner

The Skirt, the Clutter and Hidden Gifts

Posted on: July 25, 2011

There are different kinds of spiritual gifts, but they all come from the same Spirit. There are different ways to serve the same Lord, and we can each do different things. Yet the same God works in all of us and helps us in everything we do. ~ 1 Corinthians 12:4-6, (CEV)

I’m riding the New York City Subway, typing fast blog notes into my iPhone. The woman standing in front of me is wearing the absolutely most beautiful, neatest skirt. A blue and green print of a French village is scattered across its silky fabric. Want! But, peaking out from under her dusky blue top, is a huge series of Celtic pattern tattoos across her back and shoulders, also in blue. Part of me “wants”; the more realistic part of me that avoids pain does not want.

She’s rocking short, spiky blonde hair, wearing granny glasses on her nose;  maybe she’s in her early 40’s, like me. She looks like she is being completely “herself”.

I’m inspired by seeing  how she presents herself to the world. I definitely want to do and feel the same thing.

You can go shopping in your own closets.  If you have a problem with clutter, like me, you never really truly know what you have until you take the time to sort through your life by physically going through your stuff and re-organizing.

Changes are in the wind. I’m taking the time that I personally need this summer to  refocus and declutter my brain and my physical space, including my closets.  But ooooh, my budget is tight, but I really want that skirt!  For all I know, I’ve already got something like it in my closet that I’ve already bought but have forgotten about in the clutter.  Maybe  a similar item of fashion frenzy is already in there, crumpled on the floor, maybe squished in between other clothes I haven’t worn, with the tags still on it.

I’ll skip getting the tattoo for now.

There are gifts that we’ve been given that need space in order to develop fully and they are all a part of who we are; the world notices us by how we use our innermost gifts to express ourselves.  Some of these gifts are natural talents that are programmed into us,  genetically passed down through our families. Some natural gifts hide, and are developed over time and through use once they’re discovered. There are also true Spiritual Gifts given by God’s Holy Spirit (1 Corinthians 12:1-14)  that God starts ramping up in our lives when he uses us in our communities. but I’ve discovered  that we still need to declutter both our minds and our spiritual lives to make space for God to work. They are there to be discovered, as well as actively prayed for and received. To start using them, there’s a conscious decision that we need to make to give God the go-ahead to use us, especially when we feel overwhelmed by mental and spiritual clutter, and start to feel like a crumpled outfit with the price tag still on, sitting in the back of the closet.

When we make space for God to clean us out, re-organize us and drag us out of our clutter, God can use us to show the world exactly who He is, and who we are as a part of Him.

Leave a Reply

Karin’s Twitter Feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Blog Archive

July 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

