roamin' catholic: karin rosner

One more thing…

Posted on: October 6, 2011

Steve Jobs is now joking with Douglas Adams about putting Wikipedia on an iPad and writing ‘Don’t Panic’ on the case.” Ben Kuchera on Twitter 

There is so much I want to say this morning about the impact that Steve Jobs had on my personal creativity. The Mac has played a huge role in my life: writing on my MacBook brings me simple joy, the friendships I made and the leadership prep through my local Mac User Group back in the day are amazing memories,  the  little bit of income from the days when I was a retail product demo rep was so helpful, I ruined my knees crawling around creating AppleTalk networks when I was a Mac Guru (we’re talkin’ System 7, people)… I’ve got Apple in my DNA.  What’s striking and simpatico  about the tweet I’m re-sharing is that I felt the same deep sadness when Douglas Adams passed away, too… all too soon.

As a Christian, I pray that somehow, in a way that’s not obvious to the world, that Jesus and each of these guys came to a joyful agreement and I’ll get to meet both of these men in Heaven one day. Douglas Adams’ work seriously warped my sense of humor and made a skewed impact on how I view the world; Steve Jobs’ work gave me tools to express my warped sense of reality. I am so glad that they both spent time on this crazy little planet called Earth. I want to see the Guide as an iPad.

I was flipping through my 1979 Book of Common Prayer yesterday, the version I keep on my iPhone. I was running through the catechism on the way home at around 7 pm ET,  thinking about something completely different that had nothing to do with Apple.

Q: Why do we pray for the dead?

A: We pray for them, because we still hold them in love, and because we trust that in God’s presence, those who have chosen to serve him will grow in his love, until we see him as he is.

So, we pray that in the fullness of God’s love through Christ, that Steve Jobs is resting in peace. We pray for Steve’s family and friends. We give thanks for Steve’s life and for the amazing gifts that flowed through one creative leader in our time. We forgive Steve for when he was angry, annoying, picky and controlling and hurt people’s feelings in the process of being insanely great. 😉 We hope that God has one more amazing thing in store.

Can I get an Amen?

RIP Steve Jobs (February 24, 1955 – October 5, 2011)

Leave a Reply

Karin’s Twitter Feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Blog Archive

October 2011
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

